Stick to your workout with THIS easy tip

We’ve all done it and we’re probably not very proud of it. We start a workout routine, we’re on a roll and all of a sudden “something comes up” and all hopes of getting that fit bod go right out the window.

In my experience, missing just ONE DAY of a workout majorly effects me. Sometimes I have an event to go to, I’m sick, or just not feelin it that day. I always tell myself I’ll make it up the following day but it’s so hard to get motivated after a day off.

It’s OK to miss a workout day. Life happens! But when you just don’t feel like it and don’t have a REAL excuse, I’m going to share with you my number one tip for doing that workout anyway which in the long run will keep you on track with your fitness goals.

When you’re feeling a little lazy and considering skipping a workout, GET DRESSED ANYWAY! Change into your workout clothes and get everything ready to go (water, towel, etc.). DO NOT make your decision until you’ve done this. Most times, you’ll say “Well, I’m all dressed and ready to go so why not?” If you’re still not feeling up to it, maybe you really do need a rest day. If that’s the case, it’s important to take that day off so you can push yourself harder when you feel up to it.

Here’s an example of how this tip worked for me the other day. I’m telling you this because I happen to be extremely proud of myself! So I go to a dinner event after work with some co-workers. My plan is to do a late workout when I get home since I took the day before off and I def didn’t want to miss a second day in a row. By the way, I took that day off to spend time with my hubby for our anniversary (good enough excuse?). Anyway, the event took longer than expected, I ate a large meal, and I had a headache by the end of the evening. It was about 9pm and I had an hour and a half workout ahead of me. I so  did not feel up to it! The first thing I did when I got home was change. I didn’t sit down, I didn’t check Facebook, and I didn’t even take asprin for my headache. Once I was ready to go I got right into it and completed my long and difficult workout. That was the most accomplished feeling I’ve had since starting P90x several months ago.

Here’s what I want you to do: Next time you feel like being a couch potato, get changed into your workout clothes and see if you still feel the same way. Comment below and let me know if it works for YOU!

Leave a Reply

