Don’t freak! This is why you’re gaining weight

The most common reason why people give up on their fitness goals is because they aren’t seeing the results they expected within the first week or two. News flash! Getting your dream body doesn’t happen overnight. It takes loads of hard work and dedication. If it were so easy, wouldn’t you and so many other people already have that body?

Aside from not losing weight, one scary reality is actually GAINING weight. It’s baffling how you could go from eating junk on the couch to eating healthy and working out and still see the scale go up. I don’t blame you for wanting to give up at this point. I really don’t. Why would you continue on the path to weight gain? But you  can’t give up just yet and I’ll tell you why.

So with the start of P90X3, I experienced the same exact thing. I’ve heard that it was normal and to be expected but I didn’t understand why until I looked into it a bit further. This is what I found out.

That muscle soreness you experience when first working out or starting a new program is your body’s way of protecting the targeted tissue. You’re sore because of tissue breakdown and when the body protects this tissue, the muscle becomes inflamed and retains water. This “water weight” is what’s causing the scale to bump up a few notches.

You probably don’t mind the muscle soreness as much as those few extra pounds. But the good news is it doesn’t last very long. You can expect to lose the extra weight within 2 weeks. If it ends up being more than a couple pounds and lasts longer than those two weeks you may have to re-evaluate your diet.

If you have no clue how many calories you’re taking in, I recommend keeping a food diary. I use My Fitness Pal to track everything. It’s super easy and will keep you on track. My number one suggestion is to just keep at it. You know this stage will pass and you’ll eventually start losing weight. You’re going to be so proud of yourself. You’ll feel amazing in all aspects of life. You’ll be happier, more productive, have a positive attitude and outlook on life, sleep better, gain confidence, and of course be healthier all around. Please do me a favor and not give up! If you’re feeling unmotivated for other reasons, you’re probably not doing the right workout. Experiment and figure out what you ENJOY doing. That’s right, I want you to fall in love with working out like I did. It will truly change your life!

If you’re struggling to stay motivated for a reason other than mentioned in this blog please let me know by leaving a comment below and I’ll do my best to give you the push you need!

Leave a Reply

