How I got motivated

If you know me you know that I DON’T STOP. I’m constantly jumping into new workout routines without a break. Literally! One day I’ll be finishing up PiYo and the next I’m starting P90X3 for the first time. I’m always looking for new ways to be active and I just can’t sit still sometimes. I get asked CONSTANTLY what keeps me so motivated and let’s face it I wasn’t born with this kind of mentality. So I’m going to take you on the exciting journey of what motivated me to start living a fit life and what keeps me going every day.

Throughout childhood and high school I guess you could say I was just average. I wasn’t skinny, I wasn’t fat, but I was nowhere close to being fit either. I could eat whatever I wanted and was somehow able to get away with it. I’m talking entire bags of candy and junk food all the time. I didn’t know the importance of healthy eating nor did I care. Man do I wish I could go back in time because you know what? It so totally caught up with me outta the blue. Moms, aunts, and family friends always tell you that, right? That one day your body will change and you’ll no longer be able to keep up with your reckless eating habits. Of course you don’t believe them. Why would you? You’re not them! Then you wake up and don’t recognize yourself. I feel like it always happens when looking at a photo of yourself. The mirror reflects how you see yourself but looking at a photo is like looking through someone elses eyes. It hits you hard in a different way. And I guess that’s somewhat what happened for me.

As is goes with most relationships, I saw a shift in my weight after dating my husband. Who am I kidding? It started before that with binge eating with my roommates and friends in front of the TV. But it progressed with dinner dates and late night brownies with my husband. I’m not sure when I came to the realization that I needed to do soemthing about it. Most people can tell every single detail of their “ah ha” moment but for me it was just a general span of time when I slowly realized I should take better care of myself.

That time was around the time of my wedding. Which was the absolute worst timing! Why couldn’t I have decided to slim down BEFORE the wedding?? Anyway, I think it was a combination of wedding photos and seeing my aunt’s weight loss from doing Zumba. I figured if my highly uncoordinated aunt could dance like that, then I could too. So I went out and got the game for Xbox Kinect. There was no way in hell I’d try it in front of a whole bunch of people at the gym! I did one of the workouts and had a blast which kept me going.

I was burning a TON of calories doing Zumba which made me think about what I was putting into my body. I made small changes to my diet like drinking more water and limiting the amount of soda I consumed. I counted calories and chose snack packs over large bags of junk food. I dropped the majority of weight right away. I was just kind of winging it at the time. I didn’t know a whole lot about the food I was eating only that I focused on low calorie options. I didn’t know the importance of strength training to get toned up. All I was doing was cardio.

My husband had P90X so I thought why not give it a try. I was actually doing it more to motivate him than I was for my own benefit. I started getting muscular, losing more weight, and feeling even better about myself. I even read “The Abs Diet for Women”, a book (not diet) that teaches you the importance of powerfoods. This is how I learned the nutritional value of foods I was eating and how important it was to pay attention to them.

After completing P90X, I was terrified to stop. I didn’t have another Beachbody workout lined up so I went ahead and did it AGAIN. I went from P90X to PiYo (twice) and am now on P90X3 with no break between the programs. At this point it’s just part of my daily routine like brushing my teeth. I can’t imagine a day without exercising. I even do a workout on my “rest” days. It took me awhile to get to this point and it was mostly driven by being too scared to stop. I didn’t want to go back to my old ways! There’s just so many positives that come along with working out that it just seems silly to stop now. I feel more energized, healthier, happier, and successful in life.

If I had to give just one piece of advice it would be to always think about why you’re doing it in the first place. I always think back to my wedding day. While it was the best day of my life, it was also the heaviest I have ever been. Probably the most negative I’ve been in my whole life. I felt like poo! There’s no way I’d want to go back to that! And that’s what drives me to keep going.

I shared my journey, now it’s time for you to share yours. Comment below!

One thought on “How I got motivated

Leave a Reply

