My Food Diary

I love food. No matter how healthy I eat I’ll always have an obsession with food. I’m constantly planning meals, saving new recipes, trying new restaurants, and going on dinner (or breakfast) dates with my husband. So you’re probably wondering how a food crazed girl like myself stays within her calories each day. I bring to you my personal food diary so you know exactly what I’m doing and what’s working for me. Plus you can analyze my food intake and give me some advice on any flaws you may see in my diet. Let’s get started!

Breakfast

This is my absolute favorite meal of the day. I think it’s what gets me through tough morning workouts. I know as soon as my workout’s done I can dig into my delicious eggs. I go to bed excited about my eggs. I have no idea why, they’re just eggs!!  So I eat the majority of my calories in the morning. It keeps me full and I end up burning the calories throughout the day. Here’s how my breakfast normally goes.

2 eggs over easy with a little black pepper

One slice whole grain toast

One glass 2% milk with Breakfast Essentials powder (my favorite is strawberry or vanilla)

Some type of fruit (banana, Orange, Apple, strawberries, blueberries…)

AM Snack

At about 10:30 in the morning I break for my morning snack. This is when my tummy starts to rumble and the moment when I just need to get away from my computer. I like to throw something quick and easy in my lunchbox so I’m only away from my desk for a couple minutes. I typically have one serving of low fat cottage cheese with blueberries.

Lunch

Lunch varies for me because I’m all about eating leftovers from dinner the night before. Sometimes it’s a little random depending on what’s left in the fridge. Lately I’ve been on a salad kick. I buy the mixed bags of salads then add a ton of other veggies. Here’s what it looks like:

Mixed green salad in a bag

Cucumbers

Green peppers

Red onions

Black olives

Tomatoes

Dressing: Greek Vinaigrette or Light Ranch

PM Snack

I always throw an apple in my lunchbox and snack on it on my way home from work. Once I get home, I enjoy a cup of hot tea. 

Dinner

I love trying different healthy recipes so dinner’s different every night. But most all of them include chicken and veggies. Here’s a very basic dinner menu for me.

Baked chicken breast

Fresh green beans

One plain sweet potato

Brown rice

Dessert

As long as my calories allow for it I DO enjoy a little dessert and I have a somewhat funny story about it. I used to ban myself from sweets which would result in crazy cravings and binge eating. I had a serious problem as you may know from a previous blog post. Now I let myself have one serving of dark chocolate every single night (depending on my calorie intake for the day). I savor each and every bite letting the chocolate melt in my mouth for as long as possible. So far this method is working out for me and I haven’t been feeling an ounce of guilt about it!

And there you have it, my day in food. If you have any questions, advice, or recipes to share please leave a comment below! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

