8 Tips to becoming a morning person

I never used to be a morning person. All through college I’d sleep every chance I got. In fact, there were times I wouldn’t wake up until 1 PM! I also stayed up until 3am but that’s besides the point. It makes me feel old admitting this but I could so totally fall asleep at 10 on a Friday night and wake up at 5:30 the next morning. Not only do I do it but I LOVE it! I feel like I get so much more done in the morning hours especially when my husband’s still sleeping. I’m able to get all the housework and boring stuff outta the way before he wakes up which leaves me extra time to spend with him. I also love having free time after work to prepare dinner, take longer walks with my dog, and get some reading in.

It wasn’t up until about a month ago that I started waking up early to get my workout in. I didn’t think I could pull it off. I thought I would have zero energy and motivation. I didn’t think I would have time to shower, do my hair, get all dolled up and make it to work on time. I thought I’d be exhausted before even starting my workday. But with a little tweaking, I was able to get in a routine that works for me and it really isn’t that bad. Here are some things I found that make it easier to get going in the morning when you really don’t feel like leaving your comfy bed.

1. Prepare ahead of time
 Anything you can get done the night before, make sure to do it! Even just a few minutes saved in your morning routine makes a huge difference. Make your morning routine a no-brainer. I make sure to pack my lunch (and log my calories) when I clean up after dinner for the night. I set my workout clothes in the bathroom where I change into them in the mornings. If I didn’t love pajamas so much I’d probably sleep in them. I even pick out my outfit for my workday the night before. I make sure I have the correct workout DVD in the player and all my equipment (weights and resistant bands) are ready to go. I also plan out what I’ll be eating for breakfast so I don’t have to give it any thought. 

2. DO NOT hit snooze
Always make sure your alarm is set and whatever you do, don’t hit the snooze button. Those extra 5 minutes of sleep have a way of making you feel groggy when you finally decide to get out of bed. Place your alarm clock away from your bed so you actually have to get up to turn it off. From there change right into your workout clothes and get going. Don’t think twice about laying back down in bed. Just keep going.

3. Warm up
A good warm up and stretch will help you to wake up and prepare for your workout ahead. Don’t leave it out!

4. Give yourself plenty of time
Nothing’s worse than being in the middle of a workout and having to check the time to make sure you’re not running late. Experiment with waking up at different times in the beginning until you get it just right. Make sure to leave yourself extra time in the event that any step of your routine takes a bit longer than expected. I practiced my routine on the weekends first to see how it went before doing it during the week.

5. Go to bed early
If you’re waking up earlier it only makes sense to also hit the hay earlier too. You should be getting 6-8 hours of sleep a night and trust me, it’s pretty important. Getting the recommended amount of sleep (no more, no less) will help you feel energized so you’re able to survive your workout AND a long day in the office. If you have trouble falling asleep early, I recommend turning off your phone, TV, computer, tablet, and anything else you find yourself playing with late at night at least 15 minutes before bedtime. Don’t even have these devices close by, it’s just way too tempting!

6. Pump yourself up
Getting yourself excited for a workout will make it much easier to roll out of bed and get moving. Instead of dreading a particular workout, challenge yourself. See how much further you can get this time. If that doesn’t work, it may be time to switch it up with a new workout. Sometimes it just takes some experimenting to discover a workout you absolutely love. Keep at it until you find the one!


7. Find a workout buddy
If you make plans to meet up with a friend at a certain time to get a workout in, chances are you won’t bail on them. You could even plan to attend an early morning class at the gym. Mark it in your calendar and act as if it were an important meeting that you simply can’t get out of.

8. Look forward to the rest of your day
One thing that keeps me going is knowing I have an entire day ahead of me after my workout to do whatever I want. There’s no difficult workout hanging over my head all day. I just suck it up and get it done so I can enjoy the rest of my day.

Early rising may not be the thing for you. I didn’t think it was for me at first either. But you never know until you try it so go ahead and plan to set the alarm earlier for at least a week. If it doesn’t work out, no sweat. Just figure out a routine that DOES work for you!

Tell me: Are you an early bird or a night owl? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

