Chocolate Milk as a Recovery Drink??

I’m always trying to work in a protein shake after working out. I know it’s good for building muscle and to me they look delicious. Notice I said look! The yummy flavors also lure me in. But my problem isn’t in how they taste but rather in how I feel afterward. No matter what I do, my stomach yells at me after downing them. I’ve tried everything. Using one scoop instead of two, mixing with water instead of milk, drinking it slowly over time, on an empty stomach, on a semi full stomach and so on.. Every single thing I can think of and nothing works! If you have ANY suggestions for me, I’m all ears. Seriously, leave a comment at the end of this post!

So I’m just about D.O.N.E. done with recovery drinks! Until I ran into a few articles that mention drinking chocolate milk after a workout. Say what?! The dessert drink I loved as a kid is now a healthy recovery drink? I’ve got to know more about this! I did a little bit of research but won’t bore you with the details. Here’s the basics of what I learned:

Protein

So it may not have as much protein as a protein shake but chocolate milk still contains enough for after a workout. Plus milk-based proteins promote greater muscle protein synthesis than soy-based proteins (according to 
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition).

Carbohydrates

Chocolate milk is said to have the perfect protein – to – carbohydrate ratio which refuels muscle damage and helps with recovery. It may even be better for recovery than protein shakes!

Still don’t know how this will work out for me but it’s worth a try, right? I love chocolate milk and it’s much cheaper than fancy protein shakes. If you have any insight to share on this, please comment below. Will let you all know how it works out!

Leave a Reply

