8 Ways Dry Shampoo will Transform your Morning Routine

It wasn’t until recently that I started exercising in the morning. I’m much more of a morning person and have a ton of energy early in the day. I’m motivated and able to get more done. So why was I not working out in the AM but instead waiting until after work when I’m already exhausted from the day? The answer sounds a little crazy but it all has to do with my hair. I never thought in a million years I’d be able to get my workout in, eat breakfast, shower, let my hair dry, then straighten it all before going to work at 8:00am. And there’s no way I could go to work without my shower! But then I discovered this brilliant product called dry shampoo. It’s been around for awhile but I didn’t actually think it would get the job done. Then I saw that the bigger hair product companies (Dove, Tresseme, and others) offered the product and it was actually way more popular now than in the past. So I decided to give it a try. Here’s how it changed my morning routine.

1. It only takes a few minutes to dry sweaty hair and quickly spray some dry shampoo on your scalp, it smells great, and it soaks up all the oils. You’d never know I didn’t wash it in the shower.

2. I’m able to get my workouts in bright and early when I have the energy which means my performance has improved (burning more calories and losing more weight), I’ve been happier throughout the day without stressing about an upcoming workout in the evening, and I’m able to have more time to work on my business, cook yummy dinners, and relax after work.

3. I’m also not wasting time in the shower with rinsing shampoo and conditioner out of my hair. I’m in and out and ready to start the day. Oh and I’m not freezing when I get out of the shower like with soaking wet hair 🙂

4. My hair is healthier now. My hair has been growing like crazy since I made the switch to dry shampoo. But I’m not sure if this is a good thing. I already need a haircut and I just got one not too long ago!

5. I’m not frying my hair with a flat iron every single day. This also saves time in my routine.

6. I’m saving money on shampoo and conditioner. Yes, I am purchasing an additional product for my hair but you really don’t need to use much of the dry shampoo. You only need to spray the roots so a can will last quite awhile.

7. Some days (like Yoga or stretch day) I don’t even need to use the dry shampoo. If you’re not sweaty there’s no point!

8. It’s also super easy to use which is perfect for someone like me who’s clueless about styling hair. I don’t know what’s wrong with me but I don’t have the styling skill in my genes! This is why I leave my hair down and do practically nothing to it every day.

Using dry shampoo in 4 EASY steps

Step #1: Before doing anything, comb your hair. It sounds gross but you want to spread the sweat through the strands so it’s not all sitting on your roots.

Step #2: Blow dry the sweaty areas. This only takes a few minutes since your hair is (hopefully) not  completely soaked.

Step #3: Spray the dry shampoo on your roots. No need to do the rest of your hair. Just focus close to your scalp.

Step #4: Leave alone for a few minutes while you do your makeup. Then you can style as normal. I usually run a flat iron over my hair real quick before leaving the house.

Dry shampoo is pretty simple. It’s a great product for women with busy lives who want to stick to their exercise routines while still looking their best when heading to the office. But there’s a deeper message that I want to point out in this post. For me, the issue with washing and styling my hair was a road block. It was stopping me from working out in the morning when I was able to perform my best. And I let that control me for far too long. No matter what life throws your way, there’s always a way to work around it. I was lucky in this case considering how easy the solution was. But you can take this concept and apply it to really any area of life.

Who’s a dry shampoo fan? Let me know which kind is your favorite. I’ve been using Dove and haven’t really tried the others 🙂

Leave a Reply

