What being a coach means to me

When I first heard of the Beachbody coaching opportunity (my boss actually mentioned it to me) I sort of laughed it off thinking I wasn’t qualified to be a fitness coach. Yeah, I’ve done Beachbody workouts religiously for a year and started my fitness journey about 2 years prior. I really have learned a lot through my experiences but I wouldn’t consider myself “coach” material. I still feel like I’m not in the best shape I could be and there’s so much more I need to learn. But since someone out there thought it would be a good fit for me, I looked into it. To my surprise, it wasn’t anything like I expected.

Being a Beachbody coach isn’t a personal trainer at the gym. It’s focused more on what happens BEFORE starting a fitness program. It’s motivating someone to get started on their fitness journey and better their lives. All great things start with a decision to make the first step forward and that’s what Beachbody coaches do. We help others make that first step that will change their lives forever. That’s POWERFUL!

So one thing we focus on when being a coach is our WHY. Whenever things get difficult, we always remember why we’re doing it all in the first place. My weight loss journey has seriously changed my life. I’m healthier, more confident, have more energy, have a positive outlook on life, and am happier all around. In my eyes, everyone deserves to feel like I do right now. Completely happy and grateful for all that life has to offer. I hate seeing others down and miserable because I know there’s something better out there for them. I want to be that motivation for them. I want to help turn their life around. I want to grow a team of positive and uplifting people. The world needs more of that. And that’s why I became a coach!

As many of you probably already know, I’m just starting out as a coach. As with any new business, it’s not easy at first. I haven’t sold a thing yet! But of course I’m still learning, building relationships, and adding new people to my network. I may not have made any money yet but I’ve been changing lives every day so far and that’s what really counts. I make an appoint to talk to a few people that I haven’t talked with in awhile just to reconnect and see how things are going with them. One person that I haven’t talked to in YEARS told me about how he joined a gym and was turning his life around. He also said I was his motivation. I didn’t even have to talk to him one on one to motivate him! He was seeing my Facebook posts and saw how I made a huge life change and that inspired him to do the same. And that’s not the only person who said something along the same lines to me. That’s what coaching is all about to me.

I’m not a coach to sell you something. I’m not in it to become a millionaire. I’m a coach because I want to make a difference in someone’s life every single day. I’ve been in their shoes, I decided to take a step in the right direction, and it has completely changed my life forever. It’s really quite simple but you can’t make that change unless you’re ready to go into it with 100%. Everyone needs some type of push to get them going. I want to be that little push. I never want anyone to feel like they’re in it alone. I’m a coach to help people throughout their whole journey. I’m more than a source of information for when they need it. I’m a friend. I’m their support group and I’ll never let them down.

So far coaching has been a wonderful experience for me. It’s pretty crazy how life can take a sharp turn in the opposite direction. I never in a million years thought I’d be into fitness let alone coaching today. But here I am, doing something I love and changing lives! 🙂

Leave a Reply

