Soy Milk vs Almond Milk

I never had to worry about being allergic or sensitive to the foods I eat until recently. So when my tummy started getting pissed off at me after drinking milk I didn’t know what was going on. I’m not necessarily lactose intolerant but I am sensitive to some dairy products when I take in more than just a small amount. Although it’s minor, it’s still hard to adjust! This is the girl that absolutely loves breakfast, milk being a huge part of that! So I’ve been trying out both soy milk and almond milk and am totally in love with them so far. I think my favorite has been the vanilla almond milk. Anyway, it doesn’t matter much to me which one I pick up at the store (almond milk or soy milk) but I am curious as to the nutrition value of each. Learning is fun! 🙂

SOY MILK

So soy milk tends to have more calories that almond milk. Probably as much as a low-fat regular milk. Where as almond milk keeps it under 100 calories (based on the vanilla). But if it’s protein you’re after, soy milk much more (7g compared to 1g). Soy milk is richer in B vitamins AND has 9% of your daily potassium AND 10% of your daily magnesium. Oh, and less sodium.

ALMOND MILK

If you’re counting calories, you’ll be happy to know that almond milk is about 60 calories less than soy milk (still talking about the vanilla). Almond milk also has no saturated fat whereas soy milk does. You can get 25% of your vitamin D (& 10% of your vitamin A) AND half of your vitamin E in almond milk. It also has 20% of your daily calcium.

According to Prevention, Almond milk is the winner here but I think it’s all in what you’re looking for in your morning drink. If you’re on a high protein diet, you may want to go with soy milk. If you’re on a calorie restricted diet, save those extra calories by going with almond milk. Both of them have their own nutritional benefits so it really just comes down to your preference. To be really good, go with the unsweetened versions. I’ve tried the unsweetened soy milk and it was surprisingly good. As for almond milk, I’ve tried the vanilla and dark chocolate. I definitely recommend the chocolate flavor if you get chocolate cravings! I’ll probably end up trying all of them at some point. There’s also cashew milk that’s also intriguing. Anyone try it?

What kind of milk person are you? Regular milk, chocolate milk, soy milk, almond milk, no milk at all? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

