How to stay healthy on vacation

Hey have I mentioned I’m going on vacation this week? LOL I feel like it’s all I’ve been talking about lately 🙂 We just don’t get to go away very often and we both totally need some time off work. We’ll be making the long drive up to Pennsylvania (from Florida) this Friday to see my family, some of whom I haven’t seen in years! Needless to say, I’ve been working hard to look my absolute best to really impress them. But what do I do when I get up there for the week? Do I just ditch my diet and exercise and let myself go while up there? Then I’d have to make some major changes when I get back home and that’s no fun! It’s always harder to get back on track, isn’t it?

I like to call this the yo-yo effect. You’re really good for awhile just so you can be bad. It’s like eating hardly anything all day or doing a second workout just so you can have an extra slice of pizza for dinner. You’re canceling out the effects which is actually pretty smart. But what if there were a better way? A way you could remain healthy while on vacation and still look your best when you get back to reality?

I actually have a Summer Slim Down challenge group coming up June 15th that will help you do just that. We’ll all be starting a healthy diet and new fitness program together. I’ll be sharing daily clean eating tips, healthy snack recipes that you can bring to those summer BBQs and beach parties, and you’ll be participating in daily tasks within the group to keep you on track. I’m actually part of a challenge group right now and the support and encouragement I’m receiving from other people in the group is unreal! We’re all getting fit together and we all have our struggles but the support we have for each other is what keeps us going. Anyway, think of this post as the teaser to the Summer Slim Down challenge. We’ll go over some tips for staying on track while on vacation and then go into more detail in the group.

1. Bring healthy snacks
So we don’t fly anywhere and the drive to PA is a long one! That means we’ll need a bunch of snacks. Don’t wait until you’re on the road to pick up snacks. You’ll be too tempted to grab the chips at the gas station. Instead, hit the grocery store the night before leaving and grab healthy snacks like nuts, grapes, Cherios, beef jerkey, and anything else that’s easy to eat in the car (or plane).

Also remember to bring snacks when sightseeing all day 🙂

2. Eat the same amount of food 
Don’t worry too much about the unhealthy foods your eating to the point of driving yourself crazy. You do want to enjoy yourself, go out to dinner, and indulge in foods you wouldn’t normally eat. But don’t overdo it. It’s ok to cheat a little as long as you’re eating the same amount of food and not totally stuffing your face.

3. Plan your meals
Scope out the restaurants you most definitely want to try out ahead of time so you get an idea of what you’ll be eating while there. Maybe there are some healthy options on the menu you’d like to try out.

4. Cook!
There’s nothing wrong with staying in one night for a romantic home cooked dinner!

5. Watch your drinks
Drinks are something I don’t think about as much as I do food when it comes to calories. Watch how many drinks you’re throwing back and try some “skinny” options.

6. Bring your workouts with you
As you probably know, I’m all about Beachbody workout programs. You can literally do them anywhere you have access to a TV and DVD player. Most of the newer workouts are only 30 minutes long so it really doesn’t take much from your vacation and there are many options where you don’t need any equipment. Resistance bands are super easy to travel with too so that’s always an option.

7. Walk everywhere
If you’re not bringing any type of fitness equipment or workout DVDS, get your exercise through walking as much as possible. Wake up early for a long walk on the beach, walk around and explore the neighborhood, take a hike, and visit places close by that you can walk to.

8. Relax
The main point of a vacation is to get away from work. Maybe an intense workout isn’t really what you need on this vacation. Yoga is a great relaxing workout that will burn calories and help you clear your mind. No matter what it is you end up doing, make sure it’s something you enjoy.

9.  Don’t stress about it
You will drive yourself crazy if you’re worrying about every single calorie you consume while on vacation. You’ll most likely cheat a little on your diet. You may not be getting in as many workouts as you would if you were home. But that’s what vacations are all about!

So I know for a fact that I’m not going to be perfect on my vacation especially around my family. I already have some healthy snacks planned for the road trip, I’ll have my workouts packed and ready to go, and I plan on walking around Philly and Valley Forge. But I do plan on enjoying some yummy cheese steaks, diner food, and a pig roast party. I’m going to love every minute of it and I promise myself not to feel guilty!

For more healthy summer tips, you’ll want to join the Summer Slim Down Challenge. I’ll help you make healthier choices at the next wedding coming up, the pool party, the graduation party, and of course vacation. Comment below and let me know if you’re ready for the challenge!

Leave a Reply

