Your questions about Bulletproof coffee ANSWERED!

+ 1-2 Tablespoons unsalted butter+ 1-2 Tablespoons

You may of heard of the butter in coffee trend (mostly from your Paleo friends). And you most likely thought “WHY”?? I was the same way when I first saw it done. It sounded absolutely gross and unhealthy. I was always a half & half girl myself. No fancy flavored creamers or anything so when I started my Keto (low carb high fat) lifestyle, I decided to give it a try. I had calculated all my food for the day and had some extra fat to get in so I grabbed the butter and coconut oil and plopped them into my coffee! I’ll get into my thoughts about it later but first, here’s why it’s even done in the first place.

To learn more about low carb high fat dieting, you’ll have to take my upcoming 5 day focus group (100% on Facebook) where I explain EVERYTHING and share my favorite recipes. But for now, I’ll keep it short & simple. On a low-fat diet, your body typically burns carbs for energy and stores fat. When you take in more fat and less carbs, your body starts to burn fat for energy.

That being said, when you boost your fat intake first thing in the morning, you’re telling your body to burn fat for energy all day long. So the butter and coconut oil give you that little boost plus the butter adds a creaminess to the coffee.

Note: This isn’t based on scientific studies but it kinda makes sense, right? I’d say it’s worth a try!

How to make Bulletproof coffee:

  1. Brew a cup of coffee. There is an actual “bulletproof” coffee but you don’t necessarily have to use that. Use whatever you already have in the house.
  2. Mix brewed coffee, 1-2 tablespoons of unsalted butter, 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil, and flavoring of your choice (vanilla extract, cinnamon). Blend until frothy!

I’ve tried it a few times and it’s actually not half bad! I’ve been drinking my coffee black these days but I’ll enjoy a bulletproof coffee now and then. Tell me your thoughts!! Tell me how much you love bulletproof coffee OR go ahead and bash it in the comments below! I just want to know what you really think of this buttery coffee fad!

ALSO! If you’re intrigued by this or low carb high fat dieting in general, COMMENT below “I’m in” to be added to the FREE Facebook focus group where you can learn more about how it works and ask me any question you may have šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

