It’s all your fault! Start taking responsibility over your own life

IT'S ALL YOUR FAULT!

I used to think the world was out to get me. I would blame every single situation that was less than ideal on other people or events in my life. It was never my fault! I was late because my alarm didn’t go off, I didn’t get enough sleep because my neighbors were noisy, I went off my diet because someone brought donuts into the office, I can’t go on vacation because my rent is too high and I can’t afford it… No matter what it was, I always put the blame on someone else.

I especially saw this behavior in myself after my dad passed away. It was like every time I was in a bitter mood for one reason or another, my excuse would be “I’m just thinking a lot about my dad lately so I’m a little upset”. What a lame excuse! You really can’t use that card forever.

It actually wasn’t until recently that I had an “a-ha” moment. I started reading all these personal development books when I realized that in order to grow my business, I had to grow as a person and I sure had (and still have) a lot of learning to do! Anyway, the biggest thing that I’ve learned and I hope to make you realize as well is that life is what YOU make it. The things that happen in your life are based on a series of choices that you yourself made.

Your alarm didn’t make you late. You forgot to check that it was set. Your landlord with with high rent didn’t keep you from a vacation. You neglected to start saving up for it. The donuts in the break room didn’t force you to eat them. You made that choice!

It’s time we stop blaming other people and events for our unhappiness and start making better choices. If we could just own up to our mistakes, we can learn from them and make a better life for ourselves. This forces us to GROW into the people we really want to be. It takes away any negativity put on others. Not to put negativity on ourselves but just to acknowledge that we can do better next time.

This is going to be a huge reality check for you but it’s important.

Only YOU are to blame for your unhappiness.

But…

You’re also the only one with the power to create your happiness.

So what’s it going to be? Are you going to continue blaming others for your own life choices or are you going to man up, admit to your poor choices and make a change?

I hope you choose change šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

