The REAL importance of leg day

The REAL importance of

You hear it all the time when it comes to fitness. Rule #1: Never miss a Monday. Rule #2: NEVER skip leg day! I get it. Monday typically sets the tone for the entire week. If you kill it on Monday, it gives you momentum to totally rock Tuesday through Friday as well. Makes sense. And of course you don’t want to only focus on upper body. Your core and legs count too! But there’s something special about your legs.

I’ll be the first to tell you that my thighs are ginormous. I sometimes have a difficult time finding pants that fit over my booty and legs, recently especially. I actually started freaking out. I was gaining weight and my clothes started fitting tighter. I wasn’t eating any junk food at all so what gives?  I’ll let you in on a little secret…

I wasn’t just gaining weight. I was gaining MUSCLE! Now that I’ve realized this, I’m totally ok with my gains. As long as I’m not gaining fat I’m cool with it. So what do my extremely muscular legs have anything to do with YOU and your fitness routine?

Your legs are your POWERHOUSE. Meaning you have the most muscle in your legs. When you work out your legs, you’re using more energy and burning more calories which leads to weight loss (or more specifically, fat loss). And just because you’re working your legs, doesn’t mean you’ll only get fit in your legs. It could also help you lose that gut that’s haunting you.

I know you hate those squats and lunges but when your legs are about to give out and you don’t think you can last another second, think about the body you want. Think of it as sculpting your body into that dream you have for yourself. Know that it takes time and a lot of hard work but you’ve got to push through in order to get it. Think about why you’re doing these dreadful squats in the first place and remember that you are worth the effort you put in!

Trust me, I hate leg day too but totally got this 🙂

Leave a Reply

