Fitbit vs Garmin: Which fitness tracker should you get?

I have never used a fitness tracker in my life. I’ve thought about looking into it but somehow got distracted along the way. Then I had someone ask me about them which motivated me to look into them for real. Now when I say I don’t know anything about these type of trackers, I really don’t know anything. I know the name Fitbit and I’ve seen Garmin on Amazon but that’s pretty much the extent of my knowledge. From what I can tell, these are the two big names when it comes to fitness trackers. But that’s not all you have to consider when making your decision. Both Fitbit and Garmin have many different types of trackers to their name. It actually gets quite confusing. To simplify things, I looked at some reviews and found out that the top rated trackers were the Fitbit Charge HR and the Garmin Vivosmart. Both are wristbands which is a huge benefit (from what I’ve read) but they each have some different features to keep in mind. I reviewed the sales pages for each and this is what I found.

Fitbit Charge HR

simple.b-cssdisabled-png.hbb795d73807acb7f4b153fd741a45977.pack

Price: $149.99

Look: Sleek design in 3 fun colors and black

PurePulse heart rate monitor: Continuous & automatic heart rate and simplified heart rate zones

Workouts and activity: Tracks workouts, heart rate, distance, calories burned, floors climbed, active minutes and steps

Notifications: Connect with other devices to get call notifications and daily stats

Exercise tracking: Get run stats, review routes, and workout summaries

Battery life: Up to 5 days

Sleep: Monitors sleep and doubles as an alarm

Wireless syncing: Can sync stats automatically to smart phones and computers

Water resistant: Sweat, rain, and splash proof

(more info here)

BOTTOM LINE: If you’re a social person, this is the tracker for you. It seems to be able to sync to your other devices easily so you can access your stats wherever you are. You can even share your stats with your friends to keep you accountable. This would be perfect for the very active exerciser. Looks to be super simple to operate.

Garmin Vivosmart

cf-lgPrice: $149.99

Look: Slim design in 5 different colors plus black BUT the color is actually the underside color. The outside is always black as shown in the picture above.

Tracks: Steps, calories, distance and time of day

Notifications: Syncs to your smartphones and alerts you with calls, texts and emails

Inactivity: Will alert you when it’s time to get your butt moving

Battery: Lasts up to 7 days

Sleep: Tracks your sleep (shows you total sleep hours, as well as periods of movement and restful sleep) and also functions as an alarm clock.

Goals: The tracker learns your current activity level and assigns an attainable daily goal for you, updated as you reach your goals.

Community: Free online community where you can earn badges and view progress

Syncing: Automatically syncs with your connected Bluetooth mobile device

Bundle: Can purchase the bundle which includes a heart rate monitor. ($179.99)

(more info here)

BOTTOM LINE: If you’re having some trouble sticking to your goals, this one is sure to keep you on track with daily goals, an online community, and alerts when you stop moving. Seems to be a tracker that you’ll want to wear all day long but is slim enough that you can easily do that.

The decision

These two trackers are very similar in their function so it really just comes down to your personality and what you’ll be using it for. If you want to easily stay connected and sync everything to your phone or computer, you’re best choice would be the Fitbit. If you want to get goals for yourself and become more active in your everyday life, I’d go with the Garmin option. If you’re dead set on a heart rate monitor and want it all on one device, you’ll need to go with the Fitbit as the Garmin does not have that feature. I would personally go with the Garmin Vivosmart. I like the fact that it’s constantly pushing you to be more active. That’s what I need in my life.

Which one would you go with and WHY? Let me know in the COMMENTS!

Leave a Reply

