6 Ways of thinking that will change your life forever

6 WAYS OF THINKING THAT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE FOREVER

Random fact about myself: I used to get terrible anxiety. I guess it’s a trait I picked up from my dad because I spent my whole childhood hearing my mom say “worrying will never solve anything”. She was the opposite of us worriers and I was jealous of that. It’s no fun mentally freaking out about something you can’t change. I always felt like I had no control over my future and that was scary. I would get so nervous about school projects, presentations, driving somewhere new (fear of getting lost or being late), meeting new people, what others thought of me, and just day to day things. Things that most people don’t even think twice about. Sometimes I’d feel anxious and uneasy and I had no idea why!

Worrying doesn’t solve anything.

In fact, dwelling on a particular situation only makes things worse. We hear these lines all the time. We know they’re true but it’s so difficult to just change your way of thinking. It may not happen overnight but there are some things you can start doing to gradually be able to accept life and all it has to offer. The ups, downs, and the surprises. I’d say I’ve gotten 110% better with my anxiety over the last few years just by doing small things here and there. It’s almost like playing a sport. You have to practice in order to get good at it but once you got it, it becomes natural. Anyway, here are a few things you can start doing to worry less in your life.

Accept that you won’t be able to control everything that happens in your life. You can control your decisions and your decisions lead to the greater picture. But there will be bumps along the way. Use every difficult moment as a way to learn and grow. You may not see it right away, but know that these tough moments are happening for a reason. You can get through these moments and you’ll become a better person because of them.

Start loving yourself. This will build your confidence and others will respect and start looking up to you. Eat healthy, exercise, spend some quality time with yourself, buy a new wardrobe, treat yourself every once in awhile, and just focus on being happy. Once you start feeling comfortable in your own skin, you’ll start feeling more comfortable around other people too.

Learn to let go. Here’s another line you’ve heard a million times: “The past is behind you for a reason”. By holding a grudge, you’re obsessing over something that probably won’t even matter in a few months. Not letting go causes you to miss out on the wonderful things that are happening right now in the present and your future. Next time you’re stressing out about something, ask yourself if it will even matter in a month. Probably not! Time to move on.

Put yourself in uncomfortable situations. The only way you’re going to grow and overcome your fears is to face them head on. I wasn’t normally a very social person back in the day and I still struggle with communication but putting myself out there has made me open up more. I can go out and meet up with a group of girls I hardly know and have a great time. I can chat online with like minded people that I don’t know. I would never be able to do that before! All it takes is a couple times doing something outside your comfort zone and you’ll start feeling more comfortable doing it.

Stop worrying about what everyone else thinks of you. So you’re a little goofy and unique. Those are amazing qualities that you should be proud of. Not everyone will like you but that’s life. Haters hate because they’re jealous of you! You have something they want. Don’t ever let them get you down. Keep doing your thing and ignore them. The less you care about what others think of you, the more confident you’ll become. Plus your opinion of yourself is the only one that matters anyway!

The ultimate goal in life is to be happy, right? That’s what you need to be focusing on. I know my anxiety would really get me down. There were things I wasn’t willing to even try. And it brought negativity into my life. It takes time and it’s not the easiest thing to do but you just have to let go and allow yourself happiness. I think clearing my mind first thing in the morning really sets the tone for my day. I start every morning working on me. I meditate to clear my mind and prepare myself for the day and I read a personal development book. I’m always learning and always growing. Remember to take that time to focus on yourself. Think about your goals and dreams. Is your anxiety holding you back? What changes can you make in your life to move forward? What small thing can you start doing TODAY? How would your life be different without your anxiety?

To be honest, I just want to see joy in your life. We all struggle with different things but we all have one thing in common. We all want happiness. I hope some of these ideas inspired you to make some changes in your life. As I always say, life is supposed to be fun. Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

