Crack Slaw REVIEW

Crack Slaw REVIEW

When starting The Lazy Chef cookbook, I set a goal for myself. I vowed to try at least one new recipe per week and determine whether or not that recipe would make the cut for the book. I also modify the recipes to put my own spin on them, often times simplifying them so anyone can make them (hence the name LAZY chef). After trying a new meal, my husband and I analyze it together and decide what we plan to do differently next time. So anyway, I’ve decided to give you a little taste of our “reviews” and what you can expect to see in The Lazy Chef.

This past week I tried a keto dish called Crack Slaw. I’ve been seeing it all over Pinterest and Instagram so there’s a good chance that you’ve heard of it before too. Let’s just say there’s a reason why they call it CRACK slaw. Here’s the original recipe that I got from Food.com.

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 green onions, sliced
  • 14 ounces coleslaw mix (if you don’t want the carrots use the angel hair cole slaw or just shred up a head of cabbage)
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 12 teaspoon sriracha sauce (this will be pretty mild so add to taste or you can use pepper flakes to taste)
  • 1 (1 g) Splenda quick pack
  • 12 teaspoon ginger paste (you could also use 1/2 teaspoon fresh minced ginger or ground ginger)
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar (any kind really)
  • sriracha sauce (to garnish)

Directions

  1. Brown ground beef and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  2. Remove from pan and set aside.
  3. Heat up sesame oil and sauté garlic, onions, and slaw in sesame oil until cabbage cooked to desired tenderness.
  4. Stir in the soy sauce, Sriracha sauce, Splenda, ginger and vinegar.
  5. Add back in hamburger. Mix well and serve!
  6. Serve with additional Sriracha sauce on the side for people who want to add spice.

Modifications:

I completely left out the sriracha sauce because I didn’t have any and in my mind, the less ingredient the better. I did have to buy the sesame oil but that was an important ingredient that I couldn’t leave out. I went with the pre-made cole slaw mix because let’s face it, I’m lazy. Also, just used the ground ginger because that’s what I had in my cabinet.

Ingredients:

The ingredients list was super simple. I had to purchase the vinegar, sesame oil, and cole slaw mix but everything else was just the basic things I normally have in the house.

Prep:

Really no prep needed for this. You could brown your ground beef ahead of time if you felt like it but it really doesn’t take long to do. The only things you have to chop up are the green onions and garlic which only took a minute tops.

Cook:

The directions were super simple: Brown ground beef, saute veggies, and combine everything. Didn’t take long at all either.

Side dish:

Since this is an Asian dish, I thought rice would go perfectly with it. When I say rice, I mean cauliflower “rice” which is just as good in my opinion. I think they paired well together. Broccoli or green beans are other good options.

Taste:

LOVED it! It’s something different to try when your ordinary stir fry gets boring. And the best part is it makes plenty for leftovers.

What we would change:

I feel like it needed some variety with texture, maybe a little crunch. Next time I make it, I’ll sprinkle some sliced almonds or peanuts on top. My hubby seems to think incorporating a teriyaki sauce would be good but I don’t think that’s necessary. Other than that, I think the recipe is perfect.

TELL ME: Will you be trying Crack Slaw? I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about it. Be sure to COMMENT below.

Also, what recipe would you like me to review next? Post a recipe in the comments below and I’ll let ya know what I think of it!

Leave a Reply

