6 Benefits of running

6 Benefits of running

Fun fact: I am NOT a runner. I actually despised any kind of workout before I gave Zumba a try with running being #1 on my hate list. After Zumba I got into other fitness programs like P90X, PiYo, Combat, and Max 30. But I still couldn’t get myself to run. It just always looked like such a fun suck to me and I swore I would never do it. There were times I said “maybe one day” but knew that day would never come.

And here I am talking about the BENEFITS OF RUNNING and how much I look forward to my weekly jog sessions. Who have I become?? It all started when I joined a Meet Up group with a bunch of girls my age in the area. We went out to the movies a few times and it was a blast so when I saw the jogging group, I signed myself up. I honestly thought it would be more chatting and goofing off than running (I was wrong). I also thought since I was doing Max 30, a hard core cardio program, I had this whole running thing in the bag. This would be EASY for me (I was wrong again).

I thought I was going to die after our first run and I was seriously sore for days after. Everything hurt, even my TOES! But to my surprise, I fell in love with it. I have a super fun buddy to run with and it’s a nice change to doing all my workouts in my living room. We currently meet up once a week but I’m considering adding a few more days in. Which is why I’m doing some research and writing this blog. I bring you 6 benefits of running in hopes that you’ll have an open mind and just give it a try even if you think you’ll hate it. Don’t be a negative Nancy like I was. Just don’t.

Strengthens your knees

This is news to me! Running can actually strengthen your knees. My fear when starting out was that I would injure myself somehow and I’m a little surprised I haven’t yet. Anyway, running actually increases bone mass and has nothing to do with knee arthritis later down the road.

It’s simple

You don’t need any fancy equipment. You don’t need a gym membership. You don’t have to travel anywhere. You can do it at any time of day, any time of year. It doesn’t require any special skill. There are no complicated moves. No practice needed. All you have to do is get out there and GO!

Increases lung capacity

The more miles you log, the more your lungs strengthen. WOOHOO!

Works your legs

Your legs are your POWERHOUSE (learn more about that here). Running puts your legs to work, causing you to burn more calories. More calories burned often results in weight loss which is typically the goal.

It also works your core

If your back is upright and you have good posture, you’ll also be working your core even if you don’t feel it as much as your legs. Strengthening your core can also improve your performance.

You can escape trouble

It sounds silly but I was always concerned that if I was in danger and someone was chasing after me I would be SO dead. I still may be dead but at least I have more confidence to get myself a little further 🙂

Lesson learned. Always try something at least once even if you’re fully convinced it’s not your cup of tea. I made a good friend, gained motivation to add more to my typical daily workouts, increased my endurance, and hopefully shed some extra pounds if I keep at it. Just give it a try! Like I said, there’s no long term commitment or expenses to make it happen. Just do it!

Leave a Reply

