You don’t have to do it all

You don't have to do it all

Do you ever start the day stressed just looking at your to do list? I recently started meditating every morning after my work out. It gets me in the right mind set to start my day on a positive note. However, looking at that never ending to do list, knowing what I SHOULD be doing with my business but not having time for, and additional after work plans still leaves me feeling overwhelmed and that’s all before I even start my day. As the day progresses, I get more and more exhausted and lack the motivation to get anything done. Living a healthy lifestyle, working full time, and running a business isn’t a walk in the park!

I used to strive to get everything on my to do list done every single day which is a great habit. HOWEVER, knowing that I wasn’t as productive as I planned to be made me feel like a complete failure, stressing me out even more. I recently decided to do something different and figured out the SECRET to being at ease with the remaining tasks on my list.

The first thing you need to do is lay out your priorities. Pick just 3 things on your list that absolutely must get done that day. These are the things that will drive you to success. For me, they always include adding to my network and inviting others to join me in my business. Work on these first thing before you even think about doing anything else. Once they are complete, you’re done (if you want to be). That’s the way I look at it anyway. All I have to do is those three tasks. If I have the time, I’ll continue on and if I don’t, oh well!

That’s another thing you need to do. You need to be able to just let it go. So what if you didn’t write that blog post on to do list? So what if you don’t read that article your friend sent over?


Think about it. What’s the worst that could happen if you don’t get to those smaller tasks? Will you die? Will people be disappointed in you and never speak to you again? Most likely not. So let it go! They can wait until you actually have the time to do them.

I’m saying this because I know first hand what it feels like to become burnt out. You feel drained, you don’t get to enjoy the things you love like quality time with your family, and you don’t even perform at your best. You even become LESS productive. All in all, it’s best to just call it quits for the night and get some much needed rest than push yourself to finish those last few tasks.

When you’re not sure whether to retire for the day or continue working, think about your priorities. That’s where your answer lies. Mine is to spend time with my husband. If I’m missing out on that valuable time, I know I need to make a change. Also don’t be afraid to take a day off! Mine is on Sunday’s. No workouts and limited work on my business. You need that day! Turn off your phone and computer and clear your mind. It’s amazing how much more focused you’ll be the following day!

Leave a Reply

