Meal prep made EASY with 6 simple tips

MEAL PREP(1)

Let’s not kid ourselves, we are ALL short on time. Don’t get me wrong, I love being in the kitchen but the last thing I want to do after working at my full time job, getting my exercise in, and putting time into my business is to cook an elaborate meal. That’s why I am ALL ABOUT quick and easy meals which will be featured in my upcoming cookbook The Lazy Chef. My lack of skill lies in meal prep though. There are so many healthy dieters out there that are totally rockin the whole meal prep thing and I feel like I missed the boat. I thought I was on a role with chopping up my veggies and shredding my blocks of cheese. That was meal prep for me. But have you seen what some of these people put together for the week?? Like full meals! No cooking all week? Sign me up for that! I need to do something to up my game so here are 6 simple tips that make meal prep easy. So easy that I’m thinking I can actually do this!

  1. Simplify it

This is probably where I go wrong. I love trying all these new recipes and while they’re all super simple, I still go through the whole experimenting stage to get each new meal just right. New plan: Stick to what I know for during the week to eliminate any new recipe “surprises” and leave the new stuff for the weekends.

2. Stock up on storage containers

I feel like I have plenty of food storage containers floating around my house so I should be set! The plan: Portion out each meal for easy storage and quick grab and go meals when in a rush.

3. Start slow

Trying to meal prep EVERYTHING for the entire week is way too overwhelming. Start slow and work your way up to it. I’ve been doing the whole veggie prep thing for awhile now so I think I’m ready to move onto the next step. The plan: Make 2 dinners on Sunday to last through mid week (or longer depending on how much I make).

4. You must plan!

I keep seeing this everywhere so it must be an important one. I do somewhat plan my meals. When I say plan, I mean I have an idea of what I want to make in my head and a grocery list that corresponds. Yeah, I need to get better at this. My goal is to start writing each meal in my calendar.

5. Prep in bulk

I love the idea of making a huge crock pot of chili or soup and freezing it for when we’re ready to eat it. I guess the trick here is to purchase meat in bulk when it’s on sale, cook it all up and then use some good freezer bags. The plan: Next time I find a sweet deal at the store I’ll buy extra and cook a double batch of whatever meal happens to be scheduled for the week.

6. Take the easy way out

There are so many shortcuts to take when meal prepping, you just have to play around with it and see what works for you. While doing my research for this blog, I came across this amazing list of meal prep hacks from the Daily Burn (click here to check it out). My favorite is hard boiled eggs in the oven. Must try!

Question: Would you rather spend 2 hours on a Sunday afternoon to meal prep or an hour (or more) cooking dinner after work every single day? I’m not great at math but that’s a no brainer for me. I have so much going on after work that I have little to no energy left for cooking. I know I’m not the only one who feels this way so let’s start this meal prep thing together! Let’s PLAN the yummy foods we want to enjoy all week, spend some extra time to cook it all up, and get it all organized in portioned containers. I’m already dreaming of what I’m going to do with all that extra time during the week!

I need your FEEDBACK! As mentioned, I’m all for quick & easy ways to live a healthy lifestyle. I don’t believe in 1+ hour workouts or elaborate diets with a ton of rules. Those are fine but not necessary. Eating right should be SIMPLE and workouts should blend in with your everyday routine. If I were to put together a Facebook group with a focus on making weight loss EASY through basic (but yummy) recipes, mini workouts that fit into your busy schedule, a breakfast you can grab on the go, and daily tips and motivation, would you be interested?? Leave me a comment below and I’ll be sure to add you to the top of the list when the group launches 🙂

Leave a Reply

