The secret to helping others starts with you

The secret to helping others starts with you

You are worth it.

I can’t tell you how many people I come across who never do anything for themselves because they’re so focused on pleasing everyone else. They think it’s selfish to worry about their own wants and needs. This is a HUGE mistake and I’ll tell you why. Want to really be able to help others? Here’s the SECRET to doing so.

Focus on your own happiness FIRST. You have to realize that you can’t make everyone happy. It’s ultimately up to the individual how they want to live their life. They choose to be unhappy based on the choices they make in life. They have the option to make some changes at any time but it’s entirely up to them to make those decisions. You have no control over that.

With that being said, the same exact thing applies to you. You have a choice to work on your own happiness. I understand how it can feel selfish but think of it this way. Would you take college courses taught by a professor who knows nothing on the subject? No way! How would they be able to help you when they themselves have no idea what they’re doing.

Think about it. How can you help make someone else happy when you yourself aren’t happy? It would be like me trying to motivate others to work out while I’m laying on the couch all day watching TV. It just doesn’t work. You have to become a role model. And that means working on your personal life first. Here’s what you need to do.

It can be difficult for some people to take time for themselves but I really believe “me” time is essential. Start by scheduling uninterrupted time in your calendar. It can be early mornings, late at night, weekly, daily, whenever! Just get it in your calendar and become committed to it. For me, I work on myself every morning from the time I wake up till I have to leave the house for work. I get a 30 minute workout in, make myself some breakfast, meditate, and read a personal development book. My job is to focus on others and I can’t do that unless I focus on myself first. This is a way for me to grow as a leader and enables me to motivate others.

My focus is on self improvement but yours can be anything. Do what makes you happy. Maybe getting lost in a book or taking a long walk helps you get mentally back in the game. I like to think of it as a reset. Life gets so hectic that you just need a break.

Once you start spending time on yourself, you’ll probably question how this is helping others. You may not notice it at first but people will see what you’re doing. Maybe you’ll be in a better mood or have more positivity. Regardless, your attitude spreads like wildfire. The people around you will pick up on your uplifting spirit and become motivated by what you’re doing. For example, I started my weight loss journey for me. When I posted my progress photos on Facebook it was for me. I was proud of myself! People saw my success and it motivated them to start their weight loss journey. I wasn’t even doing it intentially.

You can change lives simply by changing you’re own life first. Remember, you are worth it! Allow yourself to be a little selfish (if that’s what you want to call it) and do everything you can to grow and live a happy, fulfilling life. It all starts with you!

Over to you. What will you start doing regularly to focus on yourself? Let me know in the comments 🙂

The power to change lives lies in your hands.

Leave a Reply

