6 Common mistakes when setting goals and how to avoid them

6 Common mistakes when setting goals and how to avoid them

My first New Year’s resolutions I have ever set were about 3 years ago. They were to start blogging and to stop biting my nails. I look back to that year and laugh at those “big” goals. I never set goals before so I had no idea what I was doing. Last year my big goal was to become a Beachbody coach which I achieved. But there’s something I did wrong with all of these goals and I’ll tell you exactly what it was. Here are the most common mistakes when setting goals and how to avoid them.

I didn’t write them down

My biggest mistake was not writing my goals down. I had them and even a plan hanging out in my head. I was going to blog every Saturday when I had the time and I would continually paint my nails to prevent myself from biting them. I achieved the nail biting goal (woohoo!) But the blogging quickly slowed down. I should have written down the goal AND planned what to blog about. That was my problem. I planned the time to get it in but didn’t get much further than that. No matter how large or small, write every goal down! And don’t forget the details.

My goals weren’t big enough

This past year I had planned to do a bunch of research on Beachbody coaching to prepare myself for becoming a coach in 2016. I gave myself waaay too much time to do that. I did the research and saved up the fee money but all that could of been done within a few weeks. It was definitely not a years worth of work. I did end up becoming a coach ahead of time but I’m kicking myself for not starting sooner. Don’t go easy on yourself! Achieving a challenging goal is so rewarding. You can see all that hard work pay off before your eyes. Choose crazy but achievable goals.

I didn’t have a strong why

I wanted to start blogging to improve my writing. I didn’t have an agenda. I wasn’t working toward something bigger. I didn’t have an emotional connection with the goal and no reason to push myself to achieve it. As far as biting my nails go, I just wanted pretty nails. The point is, your reasoning behind your goals should DRIVE you. When you feel like giving up you should be able to look back on WHY you started and have a boost of motivation to keep going.

I didn’t revisit my goals

Most of us are guilty of this. We set our goals on January 1st with every intention of making them happen. Then we never check in throughout the year to see where we’re at with our goals. If I had checked in with my blog goal, I could have modifyed the goal and planned it out better. Instead I just completely moved on and forgot about the goal. I’ve learned my lesson this year though. I now check in with my goals quarterly to make sure I’m on track. As you write your yearly goals down, schedule a time in your calendar every few months to revisit them.

I didn’t set deadlines

This wasn’t the case for me the past few years but many times a goal can seem so huge and crazy that it’s intimidating to even begin tackling it. This is where deadlines come in. You can break down one huge goal into smaller accomplishments. Two very important things to keep in mind when doing this: Set deadlines and celebrate every victory, even the small ones. The sense of accomplishment after each mini goal will motivate you to keep going!

My goals weren’t measurable

 Let’s take a look at my goals over the last 2 years. All three of them were up in the air. There was no measurable goal. I knew I wanted to blog and I knew I wanted pretty nails. That’s it. A better way to plan this out would of been to set a goal to reach X amount of subscribers on my blog by a certain date. People slip up in this area all the time especially when it comes to weight loss. They say they just want to lose weight. But how much weight? And what’s the time frame? Make sure your goals are measurable so you can track your progress.

Setting good goals can be summed up in one word, SMART. SMART goals stand for Specific (know exactly what you want to achieve in detail), Measurable (a way to track your progress), Attainable (something you can realistically achieve), Relevant (something that aligns with your priorities), and Timely (a set deadline).

This is actually my first New Year of setting goals the right way. I just got  a new leather bound journal for Christmas and the first things I wrote down were my top 3 goals, how I was going to achieve them, monthly goals, and where I want to be each quarter. If you’re going to put forth the effort of going after your goals next year, you might as well get yourself off to a good start by writing all of this down! I think that’s what it really comes down to. Writing down your goals makes them real. Writing down the steps to achieve them is planning out a to do list to actually make them happen. DO NOT skip this step!

I honestly think 2016 is going to be a big year for us all! Tell me, what are some of your goals for the year? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

