The ONE goal everyone needs to have as a New Year resolution this year

The ONE goal everyone needs to have as their New Year resolution this year

Not everyone knows what they want to do with their life yet and that’s OK. But it’s no excuse not to set at least one goal for yourself.

You only get one life to live. One chance to make it what you want. Time goes by with or without you. There’s no stopping it. Once it’s gone, there’s no going back. You just have to deal with it. I know it’s a little harsh but it’s the truth. On a positive note, it’s NEVER too late to change your future. You can make life changes at any time. There’s no such thing as being too old. That’s just an excuse for fear of change. I agree 100% that change is a very scary thing. It won’t be easy but nothing will change if YOU aren’t willing to change. It all starts with you. If you’re unhappy but unsure of the journey you want to take in life, that’s perfectly fine. You don’t necessarily need to have big goals set for yourself. In fact, it’s better to wait until you know for sure where you want to take your life than picking a route that you may end up unhappy in. It doesn’t matter who you are, where you’re currently at in life, or where you’d like to be. This is one goal everyone needs to have as their New Year resolution this year.

Strive to better yourself.

You can’t go wrong with this one. If you take a year to focus on being a better person and improving on yourself you’ll grow, possibly discover your passion, have a more positive outlook, become knowledgeable in new areas, build strong relationships, and change your view on life among many other things. I don’t care who you are, this applies to EVERYONE. Grab your journal or notebook and write this down: “This year I will work on myself DAILY to make more out of my life.” BOOM! your New Year resolution has just been set.

Now what?

When I heard the words “personal development” upon starting my coaching career, I honestly had no clue what it meant. How was I supposed to work on myself? How was I supposed to grow? I didn’t have time for that! But I did exactly what the top coaches in the company did. I started reading some personal development books. They have given me an entirely different outlook on my business, the way I work, my relationships, how I communicate, organization, productivity, and my mindset. They have seriously CHANGED me. And I know I have so much more to learn! That’s what gets me excited. The fact that there’s no end to personal growth. I will now forever continue to grow and work on me.

A set schedule will help you on your journey to growth. There are certain things I like to do daily and weekly to stick with my resolutions for the year and keep myself organized. It took me awhile to create my own little system so I took out all the guesswork and threw together a plan just for you 🙂

Here are two things you need to do every single day:

  • Read at least 15 minutes of a personal development book or blog. OR listen to a motivational podcast or audio on the way to work.
  • Learn one new thing. It can be watching a YouTube video, reading about a certain subject that interests you, joining a Facebook group about a topic you’re interest in, or talking with an expert in that area. Remember to always ask questions!

Here are two things you need to be doing weekly:

  • Write down 10 things you would like to see happen in the next year. Don’t take much time to think it over. Just jot down what comes to mind first. They can be crazy goals or very basic ones. This will give you some insight as to where you need to be headed and will keep you constantly thinking about those things you want in life.
  • Reflect upon the past week. List at least 3 things you did well over the previous week. List at least 3 things you need to work on. Set three goals or tasks for the upcoming week. Now write down some action steps to reach those goals and plan to do them in the week ahead.

Doing these simple things really doesn’t take up much of your time but in that time, make sure you’re totally focused. Choose an uninterrupted time to work on you and make sure there’s no distractions. I like to do my personal development bright and early in the morning when my hubby and pets are still sleeping. I grab my notebook and coffee and totally get in the zone. It really is the best way to start the day.

Now over to you! If you have some other goals you would like to achieve over the next year, that’s awesome! But you still need to keep personal development in mind. Don’t cheat yourself out of a better life. Start working on yourself ASAP. What’s the worst that could happen? You’ll just end up being a little better than you were last year 🙂

TELL ME! What are some of your favorite personal development books? Please comment your suggestions below. Here are some of mine..

The 15 Invaluable Laws of Growth: Live Them and Reach Your Potential by John C. Maxwell

The Compound Effect by Darren Hardy

Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time by Brian Tracy

Leave a Reply

