The story behind ‘The Lazy Chef’ cookbook

The story behind 'The Lazy Chef' cookbook

I was struggling with food before I even knew I was struggling with food. I get my sweet tooth from my dad and I think my emotional cravings come from how I was raised. That’s my reasoning anyway and I’m sticking to it! My parents weren’t bad parents by any means. In fact, they were pretty incredible. Anyway, I had to eat my veggies at every dinner just like every typical kid. But I was also rewarded for good grades with a pint of Ben & Jerry’s. My dad always had cookies stashed away in the kitchen. And Fridays were always fast food dinners. Nothing wrong with that but even as I got older, I had no idea how to eat right or the importance of taking care of my body. I was never the fat kid in school but I was never skinny either. I was just “happy”. Throughout high school and most of college I was the lucky one who never gained weight no matter how much junk I ate. I would eat bags of Hershey kisses! Seriously, I was like a bottomless pit. When I met my husband the weight started to creep up on me. I like to say it was all his fault but I know it was 100% me. It was a huge wake up call when I was looking at the wedding photos right after the big day. That’s when I knew I had to make some changes. It started with fitness and when I wasn’t losing the weight as fast as I’d liked, I moved onto diet. Like everyone else, I was on a low fat diet. I lost about 50 lbs! But I was so miserable. I was counting calories like crazy, eating gross fat free foods, and depriving myself. All of this lead to intense cravings, binge eating, and feeling terrible about myself.

My cousin actually recommended going low carb. I thought I’d cut out bread and pasta and be done with it. Then I realized that there are carbs in everything. I played around with the diet at first then decided to get serious about it. I was tracking my macros in My Fitness Pal, eliminated sweets altogether, and removed soda (even diet) from my diet. I was doing a low carb, moderate protein, high fat diet (also known as the Keto diet). It took some time to get used to but once I did, I was AMAZED. My cravings for sweets completely went away. I didn’t even have to calorie count (as much) as I was before. That’s the beauty of fat. It satisfies so you don’t get those bad cravings and it fills you up so you don’t go over your calories for the day. I started listening to my body more. I would eat when I started to feel hungry and stop when I started to feel full. I learned fun tricks to add more fat into my diet like add bacon to everything and cook with lots of butter. I also had fun going out to restaurants. No more boring salads for me. Bring on the steak and burgers (without the bun, of course)!

Once beginning the diet, my hubby and I started getting creative in the kitchen. It started with cauliflower. We found a recipe for cauliflower “mac” n cheese and fell in love with it. Then it was cauliflower “rice”, cauliflower mash, cauliflower pizza crust, and the list goes on.. There are so many things that you can make with cauliflower and totally mask the taste! Then we got into fat bombs. These are exactly what they sound like, little treats loaded with butter and coconut oil. Remember, we’re doing a low carb and high fat diet so there were days we needed that boost of fat. Anyway, we found that the peanut butter and chocolate mint fat bombs were our favorites. They’re like candy! Our next thing was super simple dinners. With him going to school full time and working full time and me working my full time job and running my business, we had little time to spend in the kitchen. We were also on a budget so our grocery lists were always the bare minimum. We found a bunch of recipes on Pinterest and tried them out, putting our own little spin on them. If the ingredients list was way too long, we’d cut certain things out that we didn’t absolutely need in it. If the recipe wasn’t low carb but still looked really good, we’d modify it and make it low carb. For example, one of our chili recipes called for beans so instead we just put a bunch of bacon in it. And  sometimes we got really creative made up our own recipes entirely.

Once we started making all these changes to the Pinterest recipes we were saving, it was hard to keep track of them all! So we started typing out all the recipes in a book. We called it The Lazy Chef. We loaded it up with quick on the go snacks, our favorite treats for a sweet tooth (without all the sugar), crock pot meals, “throw all in” casserole dishes, and lots of bacon recipes. Each recipe has a short & sweet ingredients list. Things that you can find in any grocery store or even have in your pantry already. The directions are super simple. ANYONE can do them. Trust me, I never stepped foot in the kitchen (unless it was to eat) before getting married. I was no top chef, I can tell you that much. Every meal is also quick and easy. Well, the crock pot and casserole meals take a little longer but those are set it and forget its.

Not gonna lie, we get a little over excited about our amazingly delicious and incredibly easy meals. We post food pics all over social media 🙂 People started asking for the recipes and we were more than happy to share. But we figured it would be so much easier if everyone had all our favorite recipes right at their fingertips. That’s when The Lazy Chef cookbook went live. There’s over 50 recipes in The Lazy Chef all of which are our personal favorites and follow our low carb high fat diet. If you’ve seen some of our posts about the foods we enjoy and are intrigued, you can get the recipes right here. (only $2.99 on Kindle!)

thelazychef_bookandkindle_300

Not sure if you’d like the book? Here’s my famous cream cheese pancake that I eat DAILY. No lie!

2016-01-15

Leave a Reply

