How to do weekly reflections to improve your life (template included)

PhotoGrid_1455978371674

I’ve recently come to a scary realization. For the majority of my life I haven’t been striving to be better in any way. I had little interest in learning new things, becoming a better person, or increasing my happiness. I was just going with the flow of life and letting opportunities come and go, too lazy to act on anything really. It wasn’t until about a year ago that I woke up. If I were to die today, what would I be known for? My answer was NOTHING. I had no purpose in life and I feel like many other people are in the same boat which is why I put together this GUIDE to help you determine how to grow and make your future mean something. I started doing this a few months back and it has totally transformed the way I work. We’re going to be reflecting on weekly goals rather than yearly to stay on the right path. Braking it up into smaller chunks like this is much easier to manage. All it takes is 30 minutes of focused time once a week. Are you ready to dive in and make some life changes? Here is you guide to weekly reflections.

What

You will be jotting down in your journal things you did well, things you need to work on, goals for next week, and your action steps.

When

Once a week for about 30 minutes of uninterrupted quiet time.

Where

Choose a designated spot to focus. In warmer weather I go out on my lanai and other times it’s cuddled up on the couch next to my puppy.

How

You’ll need a notebook, to-do list app on your phone, weekly planner, and pencil for this. Oh, and a focused mind. See template below to get started and remember to be HONEST  in your answers.

Why

If you want to better your life you MUST start positive habits and get rid of some bad habits. To do this, you need to check in with yourself. You can’t just guess your way through it. This reflection template will help you begin those good habits and weed out the bad so you can become the person you want to be.


The TEMPLATE

Reflection date: _________

Things I did well this past week:

1. ________________________________________________________________

2. ________________________________________________________________

3. _________________________________________________________________

4. ________________________________________________________________

5. _________________________________________________________________

Things I need to work on going into next week:

1. ________________________________________________________________

2. ________________________________________________________________

3. _________________________________________________________________

4. ________________________________________________________________

5. _________________________________________________________________

Goals for next week:

1. ________________________________________________________________

2. ________________________________________________________________

3. ________________________________________________________________

Action steps to reach my weekly goals:

1. ________________________________________________________________

2. ________________________________________________________________

3. _________________________________________________________________

4. ________________________________________________________________

5. _________________________________________________________________


What next?

1. Print 4 copies of this blog. This will last you an entire month of reflections.

2. Schedule a time to reflect. This should be the same time every single week. Remember, you want to make it a habit to do this each week!

3. Once you complete the template, get out your weekly planner. Schedule your action steps throughout the week. Keep in mind other appointments/meeting you have during the week and schedule appropriately to ensure you get the task done. Scheduling a time consuming task on a day you’re completely booked up is just setting yourself up for failure. Be realistic!

4. Get out your to-do list. I use a note taking app on my phone so it’s always with me. Jot down on your to-do list everything you can start doing TODAY. Also make a habit of creating daily to-do lists using your weekly planner as a guide.

5. Do a mid-week review to see where your at. I like to do these on Wednesday. I review my reflection and my goals to determine where I’m at and what I need to do to reach those goals by the end of the week.

REMEMBER!! Keep it simple. The more complicated you make it, the less likely you are to get anything accomplished and the more likely you are to give up. This is why I’ve come up with a super SIMPLE system that really works for me and can also work for you. Let me know how weekly reflections have changed YOUR life. Use this template and make it a habit to reflect every week for a month and then leave a comment below letting me know how it’s going for you 😀

Leave a Reply

