Dieting made SIMPLE – 4 Things you need to know

Dieting made SIMPLE - 4 Things you need to know

I get asked all the time about my diet and what I eat in the day. So many people think I’m depriving myself which really isn’t true at all! Just because I eat healthy doesn’t mean I’m starving myself. In fact, I typically out eat my hubby! I do like to experiment with different types of diets because there’s so much out there but I also like to keep it super simple. I don’t believe that dieting should be complicated. In this post, I clear up the misconception of healthy eating, when and how much to eat, tracking your food, and my thoughts on cheat meals. Read on to see how I keep up with my healthy lifestyle the SIMPLE way.

What to eat

As mentioned, I like to keep my diet super simple. I hate reading labels and spending a bunch of money on “healthy” snacks that I’m not even sure are healthy for me. When I go to the grocery store, I pick up 5 main things:

  1. Veggies
  2. Meat
  3. Eggs
  4. Nuts
  5. Sometimes berries

I know what you’re thinking, boring right? Here’s where I like to get creative. There’s so much you can do with veggies alone!! Zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash, sweet potato fries (I don’t do these often), riced cauliflower, and cauliflower mash are just some of my favorites. When it comes to meat, there’s an endless supply of AMAZING crock pot meals on Pinterest that I live by. Trust me when I say, you won’t get bored eating this way!

When to eat & how much to eat

Sometimes I track my food (using My Fitness Pal) and sometimes I don’t. I feel like it’s more important to listen to your body. Eat when you start to feel hungry and stop when you start to feel full. Simple as that. Sometimes I don’t eat dinner until 9:00 at night. Sometimes I have a HUGE breakfast and hardly anything for lunch. Some days I eat a lot throughout the day and other days I don’t eat much at all. Every day is different and every day my body needs something different.

Tracking your food

As mentioned, I prefer to listen to my body and eat what it’s telling me to eat. For example, I was craving a banana for DAYS. My body just really needed it and after I had that banana my cravings for it completely went away. Tracking your food, however is a great way to get started when you aren’t used to listening to your body this way. It prevents you from going after those midnight snacks and overeating. Be sure to keep your calories and macros in line. I like to keep my carbs nice and low.

Cheat meals

It’s ok to go off your diet every once in awhile especially for special occasions. You have to live a little! If I’m having a craving for chocolate cake, I go out and have some chocolate cake and my cravings for it usually go away. Have your cheat meals when you need them but don’t go overboard. You don’t need the ENTIRE chocolate cake 🙂

Stop ripping your hair out over complicated fad diets. Find what works for you and keep it simple! Enjoy your favorite foods and know that you can have them when you want but get right back on track after your cheat. Your body will tell you what it needs, start paying attention to it!

Tell me, what’s one thing you’re currently struggling with when it comes to nutrition? Your problem could be answered in the next blog post!

Leave a Reply

