When you SHOULD enjoy a cheat meal

When you SHOULD enjoy a cheat meal.jpg

Cravings seem to be a huge problem for many of the people I talk to (myself included) who are trying to stick with a healthy diet. It’s always a question of “Can I have a cheat meal?” “How often can I have a cheat meal?” “What can I eat/can’t I eat?” etc.. I asked myself the same questions and have come up with a simple solution that works for me. Here’s when you SHOULD enjoy a cheat meal!

Have a cheat meal when NOTHING else satisfies. It’s when you can’t get that particular food out of your head. The cravings last days. It’s all you can think about.

It doesn’t have to be a set time (every other week or once a month). It doesn’t have to be a special occasion. It doesn’t have to be a certain food. Just listen to your body. When you get to the point where you just can’t think of anything else except that food whatever it may be, just give in. Why does this work? You get that craving out of your system so you can move on with your healthy lifestyle. Persistent cravings are like a roadblock that you must break down in order to move forward. Also, telling yourself you can’t have the food only makes your cravings worse.

The only thing you must keep in mind is how much you’re eating of that bad food. You can have a piece of cake but not the whole cake. Be careful to not overdo it. There’s a difference between a treat and a binge. Get in and get out. Satisfy that craving and then move on.

DON’T FEEL GUILTY!!

In my binge  eating days, the days I was totally out of control- I felt terrible about myself. It’s very difficult to have a cheat when you’ve been so good with your diet and not feel guilty. I like to think of little cheats as part of my diet. I honestly feel like we all need them every once in awhile. You’re not “cheating” you’re doing what you need to in order to keep up with your healthy lifestyle. Do not feel guilty over them!

Remember to live a little. Eating healthy makes you feel great, right? But sometimes you just need some ice cream and that’s ok too. Life is all about balance and your diet should be the same. One treat does not equal falling off the wagon. It’s simply keeping you sane. Tell me, do YOU struggle with cravings? What are some foods you often crave?

Leave a Reply

