How to create a healthy grocery list on a budget

How to create a healthy grocery list on a budget.jpg

The number one thing holding people back from getting their nutrition in line is not having the money for it. I know how expensive eating healthy can be. It’s actually why I started clean eating so late in my journey. I thought I couldn’t afford it! But I’ve learned some things along the way that can really help. Let me tell you what I do to save my family a little bit of money while we eat healthy. Here’s how to create a healthy grocery list on a budget

 

The first thing I do is look at my grocery store flyer that I get in the mail. I focus on what meat is on sale that week.

Next, I head over to Pinterest and my healthy cookbooks.I’m searching for recipes that incorporate the meat on sale that week.

I like to read over the ingredients list and make sure it’s super simple and short. I don’t want anything on my list that I don’t know what it is or even a huge list with a ton of extras on it. That’s just wasting my money. Crock pot meals are great because they last awhile and you can have them for a couple of days. You can just throw everything in and most of the time the ingredients are things you already have in your pantry.

Once I have my list created, I check the pantry. What do I already have? What can I take off my list that I don’t absolutely need? Is there anything I can substitute for what I already have? I like to whittle my list down to just the necessities.

When you head to the store, don’t go when you’re hungry! Trust me, I’ve done it before and I’ve come home with a cart full of groceries and spent about double than what I intended.

Stick to your list. Don’t go buying BOGO cookies just because they’re on sale. That’s not healthy, you don’t need it, and it’s just extra money you’re spending.

Check your local farmer’s market for produce. A lot of the time you can save a ton of money this way.

Also choose produce that’s in season..way cheaper!

Buy in bulk when you can and freeze anything you have extra of. For example, if chicken is on sale, buy a bunch of it and freeze what you won’t use that week. The next week you go grocery shopping, you won’t have as much on your list.

If you couldn’t tell, I take grocery shopping very seriously. Two of the most important things to me are healthy eating and saving money so this little routine has to happen in order for me to achieve both things. You can create your own system of how you put your list together but these are my top tips for creating a grocery list on a budget and I think they’ll work for you to.

Tell me,what’s holding you back from getting your nutrition in line? COMMENT below and I’ll do my best to help you get through your struggles.

Leave a Reply

