The secret to getting more done

THE SECRET.jpg

Work smarter, not harder.

It doesn’t matter how many hours you put into a day (in my mind, anyway). Maybe your office job requires you to work 8 hour days. But if you’re working on some personal things, running your own business or something like that, it’s about the QUALITY of time you but in, not the quantity of time. I do track the amount of time I spend on each task to make sure I’m working efficiently but I also know its more important to work smarter. I was actually doing way more than what I needed to when I first started coaching. Everything I needed to run my business was already laid out for me but I had the brilliant idea of reinventing the wheel when I really didn’t need to. My first year of coaching was a bunch of wasted time doing things that didn’t work. I guess it wasn’t really wasted time since I did learn from the process but I could have gotten so much more done if I had just worked smarter.

Working harder can be FRUSTRATING! I felt like pulling out my hair on numerous occasions. Now that I’m going into my second year as a business owner, I’ve learned a lot about the way I work and how to save time, aggravation, and money. There’s a better way of doing things! And I’ll tell you the SECRET to being more productive and actually getting things done.

I used to sit there and spend hours playing around on Facebook, not getting very much done. I was all over the place. I would start one task and then move onto the next halfway through then remember this other thing I had to get done. It was just a complete waste of time because I wasn’t focused on one particular thing so I really wasn’t getting anything done at all. I was also doing tasks that weren’t growing my business. I realized that I had to focus on the things that were driving my business and if I had some extra time, I could go back and to some of the fun tasks I enjoyed. Remember, FOCUS on what matters!

And the secret is.. SET A TIMER!

I like to do this because it puts me on a time crunch. I know I can’t waste hours on Facebook. I have to get a task done in a certain amount of time and I know that going into it. This allows me to get super focused on the task at hand so I’m able to get it done in the time frame. This time frame isn’t just a random number I came up with either. I’ll tell you the magic number. It’s 45 minutes. You want to set your timer for 45 minutes and know EXACTLY what you want to get done in that amount of time. This is so important! If it’s a large task that will take longer than 45 minutes it doesn’t matter. Still set your timer. You can use the timer on your phone, the Google timer or your kitchen timer. I don’t care. Just set a timer.

Why 45 minutes? That’s the magic number. That’s the sweet spot for productivity. It’s the perfect amount of time to get your best work done. It’s long enough to get stuff done but not too long where you start to lose your steam. Anything longer and your productivity will go downhill.

Be sure to..

Get rid of all distractions! Turn your notifications off. Put your phone on silent. Work from your computer so those notifications that pop up don’t pull you away from your focused time. Have only one tab open at a time. No checking your email or Facebook!

After the 45 minutes? Take a BREAK. Take about 10-15 minutes. It doesn’t matter what you do. Leave that area. Leave your desk. Set the work aside. Take a walk. Do some laundry. Make a phone call. Step outside. Or just sit in silence. I don’t care as long as you’re taking yourself away from the project for a little while. Get your mind off what you were just working on. Totally clear your mind. Then get back to work for another 45 minutes.

Why am I telling you this? Because this system works! This is what you need to be doing to get more done in your day to really DRIVE your business. Try it out. Take one day and set a timer for each task on your to-do list. Then leave a COMMENT below letting me know if it worked for you 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

