The Whole 30 Challenge: Preparing for week #1

Humblehoney (1)

I always give the advice to “go after your goals head on” and “challenge yourself” and “face your biggest fears”. I’m sure you’ve heard me say all of these things and it’s not just talk. I did all of that when I first began my weight loss journey. I never worked out or ate healthy in my life. I had no idea what I was doing and it was a huge undertaking for me. It was definitely a challenge and a HUGE struggle to get through. But after a few years of learning what to do and what not to do, completing various workout programs, reaching my goals and working on maintaining my weight, things slowed down with my progress and my motivation. I still feel challenged but I’m no longer stepping out of my comfort zone. I feel stuck. I feel like I’m constantly asking myself “what do I do now?” I’ll tell you what now. I’ve come up with a solution that will hopefully take me out of this little rut. A true challenge that will test my willpower to the MAX! I will be taking on the Whole 30 challenge starting this week.

The Whole 30 Challenge is almost like a reset. You totally get rid of all processed food from your diet. Nothing artificially sweetened, no grains, legumes, or dairy. You basically want to stick to meat, veggies, some fruit, and eggs. This is similar to the Paleo diet I was on except more strict with NO TREATS! No slip ups allowed. No falling off the wagon. No silly excuses. It’s about to get REAL for the next 30 days. It’s not going to be easy but I know I can do it.

I haven’t even started the diet yet and I have already been faced with a challenge. I made my grocery list carefully reading over every single item, making sure it was Whole 30 approved. I grabbed cashews which are fine to have without even thinking. Turns out there’s peanut oil on the ingredients list which is a no-no. I also bought flavored coffee and I’m still not sure about that one. I’ll have to do some further research. And now that I’m thinking about it, I should probably take a look at the label on the tomato sauce I bought.

Lesson #1 = READ ALL LABELS!

This may be more difficult than I thought but I plan to take it one day at a time, one ingredient at a time. Have YOU taken on the Whole 30 Challenge or would you like to? COMMENT below and tell me your story 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

