Whole30: The big finale

Increased energyMore definitionReduced bloatingClothes fit betterMore confidence (1)

As you’re reading this blog, I’m on my very LAST DAY of the Whole30 program. Wow, it sure has been a crazy ride but I’ve learned so much along the way. Let’s recap..

  • Sick the first few days from detoxing
  • Face broke out from detoxing
  • Bye bye bloat (in the first week!)
  • Got extremely thirsty one week
  • Bloating came back – discovered that almonds may have been the cause
  • Increased energy
  • Softer hair
  • Bye bye bloat (in the first week!)
  • No crazy cravings
  • Last week = the HARDEST!

I think that pretty much covered it but if you want the deets, check out some of my previous posts! Now about the very last week. This has been the most difficult week for me. The longest week of my life! I’m so close to the finish line and I’m so ready to be done! Don’t get me wrong, I feel amazing in this last week. They say the last week is when you’re in your prime. The program was fairly easy to follow once you got the hang of it and made sure to plan and prep like it’s your job. But there are some things I miss. Like just a little dark chocolate treat on a Saturday night or the freedom to be just a little bad when friends come over. I normally keep it healthy anyway but I feel like Whole30 really restricted me (in a good way!) and I just like knowing I can have something if I want it bad enough.

My plans for next week

They say to add certain foods back into your diet a little at a time so you know which foods you’re sensitive to. The first thing I’m adding back in is my Shakeology. I love the stuff, it’s full of super healthy nutrient, plus I have an entire unopened bag. The only reason why I had to cut it out for Whole30 is from the Stevia. I’ll be mixing it with water this first week. I used to use almond milk but if I am sensitive to almonds as I believe I am, I don’t want to add that in right away. I’ll see how I do with the Shakeology and maybe choose cashew milk in the future.

I also want to add some cheese back into my diet. I don’t need to go overboard with the cheese but it opens up more variety for our dinners. My hubby loves cheese so it would be nice to enjoy some of our favorite dished with him. Like cream cheese stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon.. Yes, we will be having that this week 🙂

Once I do some experimenting, I’ll most likely go back to Paleo. Maybe I’ll give primal a try since you can have dairy going that route.

Oh and I’m also excited for a little cheat meal on Friday. I heard about this Philly cheese steak place that I’m dying to try!! And I should be fine having a little cheat meal every once in awhile. Gotta live, right? I’m really working on not going overboard with my treats though. That seems to be my problem!

What is Tiger Blood?

I’m going to be totally honest here. I didn’t read the Whole30 book before jumping into this. I read a ton of resources online and joined a Whole30 Facebook group where I learned a lot. But I didn’t read the book so I probably missed a thing or two about the program. I’ve been hearing people mention “tiger blood” and had no clue what they were referring to so I looked it up! Here’s what Whole30 has to say about it.

Days 16-27: Tiger Blood. Goodbye cravings, hello Tiger Blood! This must be what everyone is talking about. You’ve hit the downhill slope of your Whole30 and life is beautiful. Your energy is through the roof, you’ve kicked the cravings, you’re experimenting with new, delicious food, and you’ve finally got the time to notice that your clothes fit better, your workouts are stronger, and you are generally more awesome. – See more at: http://whole30.com/2014/04/tiger-blood/#sthash.pBTuLQfg.dpuf

Yes, I have experienced “tiger blood”! But not everyone does. Or if they do, it’s not always a clear switch. And if they don’t feel they experienced it, they typically feel like they failed at the program which isn’t true. Everyone is different and everyone will have a different experience with it.

Have you or are you currently doing the Whole30 program?? Leave a COMMENT below and let us know what you have/are experiencing!

Leave a Reply

