How to keep going when you want to give up

How to keep going when you want to give up

Has life ever gotten so difficult that you felt like giving up altogether? If you’ve never experienced this, I’m going to assume you’re a robot. We ALL go through this. Life isn’t easy and as they say, all great things come with a struggle. You have to work hard to get what you want. I’m not just talking about getting the body you want either. This applies to weight loss as well as career goals, relationships, and just life in general. I talk about how you just need to get back up when life throws you down and keep going. Easier said than done, right? I agree! Which is why I’m going to explain one POWERFUL thing you can do to keep going when you feel like giving up.

It’s so simple. You’ll probably think you’re already doing this but I bet you’re not. Maybe it’s crossed your mind but you haven’t really thought about it. And if you have, congrats! You are well on your way to success. You understand what it takes to keep pushing through. But for the rest of the world, it’s all about going back to the very beginning.

Remember why you started.

In any huge life changes, there’s always something that drives you toward your goal. If there weren’t, you’d never begin this journey in the first place. When it comes to your weight loss, maybe your big “why” is being able to run around with your kids. To finally have confidence and be able to have a social life without embarrassment. If it’s career related, maybe you want to work from home to spend more time with your family. Or just to be able to pay your bills without stress! No matter what it is you’re taking on, it’s important to start with a powerful why.

That moment that you want to totally give up (you most likely will experience this moment because as I’ve mentioned earlier, anything worth fighting for will be difficult), you have to go back to this why. Remember your determination when you first got started. Remember how important that why was to you. Is it worth giving up now? Throwing it all away? If the answer is no, just thinking about why you started should ignite that drive again and keep you going. If the answer is yes, it is worth giving up, then maybe your why has changed. Maybe you need to pick a different route and go in a different direction with your goals. That’s fine! It’s natural for things in life to change. Go with the flow and figure out what your new why is or what you should really be putting your focus on.

No matter what you’re struggling with, never feel like you’re a failure. Maybe you had one too many cheat meals and gained back the weight you just loss. No biggie! Get back in the game and make it happen now! It’s all a learning experience. Sometimes we get too into the groove and we need a little stumble to push us even harder. Act as if it’s a test. A test to see if you’re worth of success.

I also want you to know that you aren’t alone. I wasn’t going to do this but I’m going to be very real with you and share two of my struggles right now. Two things that I’m absolutely passionate about. Two things that people actually look up to me for. And I feel like I’m getting absolutely nowhere with.

#1 is my business. I hate to admit it because I know there are people out there who want to see me fail and I keep trying my hardest just to prove them wrong but I feel like I’m just not moving forward. I am seriously giving it my all and doing the exact things I need to be doing. I’ve come a long wait and learned a lot. That’s definitely something to celebrate. But I’m so ready for bigger things to start happening. The thing that keeps me going is the idea of working from home as my own boss, going on vacation whenever I want, setting my own hours, and working wherever I want from my phone. I want that more than anything in the world!

#2 is my nutrition plan. People always come to me for help with nutrition plans, wanting to know what I’m doing. I feel like I should have it all figured out but I don’t. Here’s the thing.. Our bodies are constantly changing and with that, we have to experiment and figure out what will work for us when whatever we were once doing stops working. Maybe I’m getting old but I’ve recently realized I’m sensitive to certain foods. And I’m still not quite sure what those foods are. I’m doing really intense workouts religiously. I rarely cheat on my diet. I follow plans. I try new things. I feel like I’m doing everything right but seeing no progress. It’s frustrating!! I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way either. I feel ya! I get the struggle. The thing that keeps me going is to maintain my role model status. So many people look up to what I’m doing. I want to find a solution for myself so hopefully I can help other people do the same! I am so determined to find an answer, it’s not even funny.

Enough about me. Let’s focus on you for a moment. You don’t have to share with the world what you’re struggling with as I have. That’s scary and I get that. But I want you to be real with yourself. Sit down and get focused. Write down your goals, take a look at your why, ask yourself if it’s worth pushing through this difficult time, and get motivated all over again. If you need to make a new plan, do it! Remember this is YOUR LIFE. Life it the way you want. If you want to see yourself at your ideal weight, make it a priority to keep going when you feel like giving up!

Leave a Reply

