5 Steps To Finding Peace In The Kitchen

IMG_20160717_090939I used  to hate the kitchen. Especially when I didn’t know how to cook. Then as I was learning, I would stress out over burning things or just not doing things right. If you’re not used to cooking it can definitely be a learning curve. As I got the hang of it and started experimenting in the kitchen things got better. I started to enjoy being in the kitchen and it’s even become my place of peace and happiness. All I did was change a few minor things I was doing to create this zen like experience and you can do it too! Read on for how to find peace in the kitchen with 5 simple steps.

1. Organize

One thing that stresses me out to no end is a messy kitchen. I can’t stand coming home from work to find clutter all over the counters. I hate feeling scared to open the cupboard to have everythjng fall out on me. I’ll be the first to admit that I am the least organized person but I recently got my kitchen in order and it feels so much better! I actually enjoy spending time in there now. I got rid of so many things I wasn’t using which made room for the appliances that were sitting on my counter. Now I have plenty of room to prep and prepare meals. This whole organizing process is a pain (which is why it took me so long to do!) But this is where you need to start in order to find peace in your kitchen.

2. Have a plan

Planning is the key to success so go into it knowing exactly what you’ll prepare in the kitchen, what ingredients and tools you’ll need, and how much time it will take. I always like to give my recipe a once over the night before so I know exactly what to expect when I get to work in the kitchen.

3. Allow plenty of time

The trickiest thing with preparing a meal is making sure everything gets done at the same time (main dish and sides). You want everything to be hot and ready to go when it’s time to eat, right? Allow yourself plenty of time to make the meal so you aren’t rushing around at 9pm trying to eat before rushing to bed. Know that sometimes even with planning out your time, things don’t go according to plan. Sometimes your dish may take longer than expected. That’s why you always leave yourself plenty of time and plan your side dishes accordingly so everything finishes up at the ame time.

4. Clean as you go

A messy kitchen stresses me out even during the cooking process. I’ve picked up the habit of cleaning as I go which makes after dinner so much more relaxing too. I put ingredients away as I use them, wipe down the counters as I go, and work on washing dishes as I ait for dinner to cook.

5. Get focused

When I’m in the kitchen, I’m not thinking about all the other things I have to do. I’m only thinking about the task at hand. If you do this, it’s a great way to totally clear your mind of everything else going on in life. Sometimes I listen to a motivational podcast or some music (calming or happy) but most of the time I prefer cooking in silence. My time in the kitchen has become my happy place simple by allowing myself to get in the zone.

The kitchen shouldn’t be a scary and stressful place! As we know, eating heathy makes us feel incredible. Shouldn’t preparing those healthy meals make us feel good too? Give these 5 steps to creating peace in the kitchen a try and see how it can transform the way you feel about  the kitchen.

I feel my best in the kitchen but not everyone is like me. Tell me, where’s your happy place??

Leave a Reply

