6 Healthy Pinterest Tips For The Newbie

I am absolutely obsessed over Pinterest especially when it comes to keeping up with a healthy lifestyle and I’ll tell you why. As much as I love cookbooks, there are three main things I dislike about them. They take up valuable kitchen space, it’s tough for me to pinpoint exactly which book the recipe I’m looking for is in, and I feel like I need a bazillion different books to suit all my needs (Paleo, Whole30, low carb, keto, crock pot meals, healthy sweets..). What can I say, I love food and a wide variety of it ☺ I do have a select few cookbooks I keep around but about 99% of my recipes I get from Pinterest. 
One of the biggest problems people have with Pinterest is wasting way too much time on it. If you’re unfamiliar with the site, it basically has all the coolest stuff out on the Web from recipes to DIY projects all in one place where you can “pin” them to categorized boards and reference them later. There’s so much great content on Pinterest that it can become an addiction and hours fly by before your eyes. It can actually become a dangerous place if you’re not careful. But don’t worry, I’ve come up with a Pinterest system for finding the best healthy recipes that actually works! Read on for 6 Healthy Pinterest tips for the newbie. 

1. Be specific with your boards

You can create as many boards as you like (at least I don’t think there’s a limit?) So be very specific with your board categories. For example instead of a “healthy recipe” board, break it down into “healthy dinner”, “healthy breakfast”, “chicken recipes”, or “crock pot recipes”. This will make it way easier to find the pin you’re looking for. 

Side note: If you’re not sure where you put a certain pin you can search within just your pins to find it!

2. Be specific with how you search

When you first go to Pinterest you’ll find a ton of things in your feed. They can range from DIY projects to art to funny graphics. Basically whatever Pinterest thinks you’ll like is the first thing you’ll see in your feed. This is where you can spend hours on Pinterest so be careful! I like to use the search bar instead to find what I’m looking for. I always go into it with a plan and I search only for what I’m looking for at the moment. For example if chicken is on sale at the store that week and I need a new recipe to try, I’ll search for “Paleo chicken recipes”. This saves me a ton of time because I find exactly what I’m looking for. 

BUT if you do have some down time, I recommend looking through the feed of things that you may like. You can always find some great inspiration there (I love looking up fall crafts this time of year!) And it’s an awesome way to relax. 

3. Double check your recipes

As mentioned above, being specific with how you search will really help you find what you’re looking for but there’s usually an odd ball thrown in there that doesn’t belong. I’ve searched for healthy dessert recipes before and have accidentally pinned some loaded with sugar. Whoops! Just be sure what you’re pinning is in fact what you were looking for!

4. Click the pin for ingredients

Now you don’t have to go through to the site to view the ingredients in a recipe!! This makes life so much easier. All you have to do is click the pin and you can find the ingredients under the photo. I do this for every pin before rep inning to make sure the recipe aligns with my diet.

5. Pin now, review later

When I go on a pinning spree I normally do it pretty quickly. I pin everything that I want to try one right after the other. But when I’m ready to make that recipe, I be sure to go to the site and check it out first. Sometimes the recipe won’t even be there or the link will be broken. I also read over the recipe and see exactly what’s involved before I go out and buy all the ingredients.

6. Maintain your boards

Every once in awhile you’ll want to organize your boards. I got through mine and make sure all pins are in the correct board. It’s so easy to select the wrong board when pinning. I also get rid of any boards that are no longer relevant to me. Maybe I’m no longer doing a certain diet or are interested in something else. You can always remove boards, add boards, move pins around, and modify it to suit your needs. 

If you use Pinterest right, it can open up so many doors for you not only with trying new fantastic recipes but in anything else you’re interested in. The beauty of Pinterest is you’re finding the best content out there all in one place. You can even judge pins based on how many resins they got. This will tell you when a certain recipe is really good! Have fun with it but don’t let it take over your life. Get in, do what you need to and get out. Simple as that!

Interested in what my Pinterest looks like? Check it out HERE!

Leave a Reply

